No. TBD.F (TDM) 1-1/2021-II Tribal Development Department Himachal Pradesh, Shimla

From

To

Commissioner (TD), Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-2.

1. Sh. Rajender Bodh,

- Member SLMC, VPO Tabo, Tehsil Kaza, District Lahaul-Spiti. 2. Sh. Rakesh Jaryal,
- Member SLMC, VPO Chanauta, Tehsil Holi, District Chamba.
- 3. The Additional Chief Secretary (Forest/ Panchayati Raj) to the Government of Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-2.
- 4. The Pr. Secretary (Revenue) to the Government of Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-2.
- 5. The Principal Chief Conservator of Forests, Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-1.

Dated Shimla-171002 the 10th January 2022.

Subject: -

Proceedings of the meeting of State Level Monitoring Committee held on 03.01.2022 at 12:30 PM constituted under Forest Rights Act, 2006 under the Chairmanship of the Chief Secretary to the Govt. of HP.

Madam/ Sir,

I am directed to enclose herewith the proceedings of the meeting of the State

Level Monitoring Committee regarding Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Act, 2006 held on 3rd January 2022 at 12:30 PM under the Chairmanship of the Chief Secretary to the Government of Himachal Pradesh for your information and necessary action please.

Yours faithfully, Deputy Director (TD), Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-2.

Endst No. & date: As above. Copy to:

- 1. The Special Secretary (TD) to the Government of HP for information please.
- 2. The Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul-Spiti at Keylong for information please.
- 3. Under Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Tribal Affairs, (FRA Division), Jeevan Tara Building, Parliament Street, Patel Chowk, New Delhi for information.
- 4. President, Forest Rights Committee Chhurka, Gram Panchayat Koksar, District Lahaul-Spiti for information.

[0] Deputy Director (TD), Himachal Pradesh, Shimla-2.

Minutes of the 17th meeting of State Level Monitoring Committee constituted under Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognitions of Forest Rights) Act, 2006 held under the Chairmanship of Sh. Ram Subhag Singh, Chief Secretary to the Govt. of Himachal Pradesh on 03.01.2022 at 12:30 P.M. in his office chamber.

The following were present in the meeting:

1.	Sh. Onkar Sharma	Commrcum-Pr. Secy. (Tribal Development)
		Pr. Secretary (Revenue)
2.	Sh. R.K. Gupta	Addl. Pr. CCF (FCA)
3.	Sh. C.P. Verma	Addl. Commrcum-Spl. Secy. (Tribal Development)
4.	Sh. Neeraj Kumar	Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul-Spiti
5.	Sh. Dinesh Sharma	Divisional Forest Officer, Lahaul

At the outset of the meeting Commr.-cum-Pr. Secy. (Tribal Development) welcomed all the participants. Thereafter, following item was discussed in the meeting and decision taken shown below against the item:

1. Regarding Petition received from Gram Sabha Telangi, District Lahaul-Spiti under Section – 8 of Forest Rights Act, 2006.

The committee examined the notice given by the Gram Sabha Telangi, District Lahaul-Spiti and the reply furnished by the Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul –Spiti in this regard. Vide the petition it has been intimated that Forest Department has carried out plantation on the land which has been claimed under Forest Rights Act, 2006 & is under occupation. Plantation activity will change the land use and will remove the occupation on the forest land and thereby violation of Section 4(5) of the Act.

In this regard, Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul-Spiti apprised that the claims are pending with the Sub-Divisional Level Committee due to COVID-19 restrictions in past, MP Byeelection, PRI elections and re-constitution of Sub-Divisional Level Committee (SDLC) & District Level Committee (DLC) thereof.

Decision taken:

After detailed discussion in matter and position explained by Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul-Spiti and Forest Department, the Committee decided that no penal action is called for, as the claims are still pending. The committee directed Deputy Commissioner, Lahaul-Spiti, being chairperson of District Level Committee that these claims are to be decided by SDLC & DLC on priority basis in a time bound manner as per the provisions of Act & Rules.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to and from the chair.

Approved by Chief Secretary to the Govt. of Himachal Pradesh.